Read Along · Reading

read

Hi guys!image
Today I want to tell you all about a read along I took part in on Instagram for the month of April.

So back in December last year, while I was looking around on bookstagram I happened to come across this photo by Casey Ann (@darkreaders) of a book with an amazing cover.

Immediately I wanted to read it ๐Ÿ˜ Yes, I did that thing where I judged a book by its cover….we all do it!
I saved the photo and added it to my tbr in goodreads. For the next couple months I kept seeing pictures popping up and i wanted to read it so bad! Then in March, the author Martina Mcatee posted this on instagram:

 

 

I could get it for free?!?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Sign me up!!

And I excitedly downloaded myself a copy, eager to dig in and join all the fun.

This was my second instagram read along and it was so much fun!

The book has 86 chapters and is 508 pages long. To take part in the read along, all you had to do was read 3 chapters a day….super easy! Then Martina would post two separateย  questions on instagram related to the chapters read. Answer those for a chance to win daily prizes! We also played a couple of games, like kiss marry and kill or explain the book using only emojis. We could also post our own photos of our copy (paperback or ebook) of Children Shouldn’t Play With Dead Things with the hashtag #cspwdtreadalong for a chance to win more prizes. Here are a couple of mine:

ย I know I already said this….but I had so much fun!ย  For the first couple days I stuck to the 3 chapters a day requirement. But the book sucked me in! Andย I HAD to know what happened…I couldnt wait a month! Soย I skipped ahead and read the whole thing…….IT WAS TOTALLY WORTH IT ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

This book was full of hilarious moments, drama, magic, mystery and heartbreak.

During the read along Martina also shared some AMAZING teaser pics for book 1 and 2….just look at them:

BOOK 1 TEASERS

 

BOOK 2 TEASERS

screenshot_2016-05-01-09-19-45-1.png

I havent really said much about the book and that’s because I’m writing up a review for it. I just wanted to highlight the awesomeness that was the read along. And thank Martina for all of her effort involved in organising it.
THANK YOU MARTINA!!!!
I was lucky enough to win a signed illustrated edition of Children Shouldnt Play With Dead Things and 2 ebooks (Ultraxenopia by M. A. Phipps and Perfect by Kady Hunt). But trust me when I say “READ IT!”. This is definitely my favorite read of 2016 so far and i cant wait for book 2 ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜
And if Martina host another read along for book 2 (hint hint if your reading this Martina ;)) I HIGHLY SUGGEST YOU ALL JOIN IN ASAP!

Comment below and let me know if you’ve ever taken part in a read along and what you loved about it ๐Ÿ™‚

-AIMZ

Leave a Reply

