Book Exchange · Book Hauls

stc

Welcome back everyone!

A couple of months ago there was an International Book Exchange called #savetheculture that was all the rage on Instagram and Facebook.

To take part you would send 1 book to 1 person. You then write and post about the exchange and find other bookworms who wanted to take part as well. They would then send 1 book to the person who got you involved. Then they would find some more bookworms who wanted to get involved. And they then provided them with your address so that they imagecould send you books.
Sounds confusing right? Essentially it worked like a book chain letter.
I decided to take part because I figured i could share one of my favorite books with someone random and make them feel happy when surprise book mail turned up. I thought even if no one sends me anything at least ive done a good deed for the day and made someone smile.
Fortunately I did receive some books, in fact I received five!
So a very big THANK YOU to my  anonymous senders. I appreciate the effort and time taken to choose a book specifically for me and sending it all the way to Australia!
For those curious about what I received….here they are:

The first book I received was
imageThe Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey
I hadn’t heard of this book before it turned up but am excited to start it. The synopsis is intriguing. It describes the story of a special little girl Melanie who is locked in a cell and collected for class everyday.  I also posted on my instagram when I received it and had a few people leave me comments about how good this book is. I’ve also been reading some great reviews about it that talk about a massive unexpected twist at the end so I’m definitely excited to read it!! 

You can read the synopsis for The Girl With All The Gifts here.

 The second book I received was
imageSweep volume 1 by Cate Tiernan
Again, not a book I had heard of before receiving it in the exchange. Sweep tells the story of 16 year old Morgan who discovers she is a witch. One descended from an ancient and powerful line. And Morgan soon discovers her powers may be to powerful for her to control. The synopsis sounds right up my alley and it contains three books in one….definite win! 

You can read the synopsis for Sweep Volume 1 here.

The third book I received was
 imageThe Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.
It is about Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon while he discovers a trail of clues hidden in the works of Leonardo da Vinci. I do already own an illustrated hardcover version of this book. It was bought for me when I was in highschool. I remember attempting to read it and feeling intimidated by it and worried i would ruin a nice edition so never got to finish it. I’m still glad i received this. Now i have a paperback version i can read without fear of ruining. And now that im older I’m eager to do a reread and understand more than i did the first time round.

You can read the synopsis for The Da Vinci Code here.

The fourth book I received was
 imageThe Shadow Queen by C J Redwine.
It is about Lorelai Diederich who is the crown princess and a fugitive at large. She has one mission, to kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. This book has been on my TBR basically since I found out about it. Glad to now have it. I love retellings and have yet to read one about snow white. Extremely eager to dig into this one.

You can read the synopsis for The Shadow Queen here.

 The Fifth and last book I received was

 imageNo Longer Human by Osamu Dazai.

It was first published in 1973 and is the second best selling book in Japan. Its chronicles the life of a man from his early childhood to late twenties through notebook form. While this is probably not something I would have picked up for myself im still eager to read it. One of the reasons of joining in the exchange was to experience literature from all over the world. Being a best seller from another country and translated into english i believe No Longer Human to be one of the best books to experience this with. Also I LOVE the hot pink cover 😍
 

You can read the synopsis for No Longer Human here.

Once again, I would like to say THANK YOU to my anonymous senders for sending me these books. I truly am grateful and cant wait to read each of them.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

– AIMZ

One thought on “

  1. I’ve been thinking about participating in the book exchange for a while now, this is so great I love the idea of getting books you haven’t heard about from people all over the world, I’m going to go participate and send someone one of my favorite books so hopefully they can enjoy it as much as I did. Great post! I hope you enjoy all these, I’ve seen them all around but never read them but they all sound really good 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

